Complaint by Numbers

I guess it’s grad. school for me… | July 8, 2008

Not that I’m upset that I’ll probably end up going back to school, it just seems a little overwhelming. I originally got my B.A. for Art History, and love the field, but there seem to be far fewer graduate programs out there that specialize in just art history. Most of the M.F.A. programs I’ve seen want me to take a ton of studio hours and essentially get a degree in the actual production of art. This is fine for most people, but I really do enjoy studying the theoretical/social/historical side to art. I would also be content with an M.A. in history or anthropology (history is similar enough to art history, and I minored in anthro.). Of course, with any of these degrees, the question arises: What kind of job will I get?

Therein lies my problem. I have no idea what I want to do. I’ve got a pretty clear picture of jobs that I would not find remotely fulfilling (while I enjoyed being an “administrative assistant,” I mostly just liked the company I worked for–or even more accurately, the people I worked with), but in terms of a job wishlist, I’ve got yet to come up with that.

The only problem with grad. school is that I certainly won’t be able to take any more time off of work. I’ve taken enough time off to finish up that pesky B.A. that was interrupted so that I could work a few years ago, and now (or really, when I move back to the Boston area) I’ve really got to get back into the workplace and make some money. So, I’d have to take night/weekend classes. This really limits the type of degree I can get. Going to night school for a graduate degree in the Massachusetts area pretty much limits me to an M.B.A., M.P.A., M.Ed., or an M.S. in Communications. None of these are degrees that I would remotely enjoy writing a thesis for, or taking classes for. Furthermore, I’m not so keen on the types of jobs that those degrees would afford me. I really do love the humanities too much.

1 Comment »

  1. Very nice!!

    Comment by foeseegepaype — August 3, 2008 @ 6:08 am


Leave a Reply

