Complaint by Numbers

I ain’t sayin’ he’s a gold-digger… | July 17, 2008

…but if I get another email from Barack Obama asking for money…

Yes, that was a lot of ellipses, but I still made my point. I’ve received countless emails from Obama and his staff, all asking for a donation of at least $25. Now, being a student who currently freelances to pay the rent, this doesn’t really appeal to me. While I would love to help drum up support by flyering my (predominantly French Canadian) neighborhood, or making phonecalls, or getting one of those ridiculous button-making machines and going to town, being asked for money just seems like too much.

It’s not that I’m not an Obama supporter, I mean, there is, in fact, a reason why I’m on his mailing list, but it seems a bit absurd for his team to bombard their supporters every week (it’s probably actually more frequent, but I’ve trained myself to delete the requests without really even paying attention). I voted for him in the primaries, and I’ll vote for him again in the general election, but it sort of galls me that I’m being repeatedly begged for monetary donations. I realize this is just politics, but I’m starting to feel guilty about not donating…

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

